Hardships are Blessings

They say you’ll never know a blessing without going through a hardship.

I tapped my card when boarding the bus. Looking at the small screen that showed my card balance. Out of the blue, tears started to form in my eyes.

It was just a few years ago that I teared up for being hungry. And apparently because someone was eating McDonalds’ fries there. I don’t really like McDonalds and I don’t even eat fries. But who cares, I was hungry.

It was just a few years ago that I took the bus instead of the train, in which I can reach within half the time if I took the latter route. But because I need to save money.

It was just a few years ago that I asked myself ‘you want to drink or take the bus’? So I walked to and fro.

It was just a few years ago that I told myself ‘The only meal you are getting is when you reached home’ (after continuing working after finishing an office hour job.)

But I also remember the times where someone suddenly do something nice during the period. I remember the times, over and over again that suddenly someone came over and gave me food. A stranger suddenly passed me cash. (Really like randomly someone talked to me and gave me cash) Friends suddenly treating me meals.

And perhaps times like this that made me realized Ar-Razzaq, the Sustainer. And times like this made me now go ‘Remember the times someone suddenly gave you food when you were hungry? You remember how He took care of you?’

And by writing this I hope I can remember this situations. And perhaps stop complaining how far is school from home and start to be thankful for the fact that I have the money to even pay for my transportation now.

Hardships are blessings in disguise. It builds you. And it also forces you to practice patience and perseverance.

وَلَنَبْلُوَنَّكُمْ بِشَيْءٍ مِنَ الْخَوْفِ وَالْجُوعِ وَنَقْصٍ مِنَ الْأَمْوَالِ وَالْأَنْفُسِ وَالثَّمَرَاتِ وَبَشِّرِ الصَّابِرِينَ * الَّذِينَ إِذَا أَصَابَتْهُمْ مُصِيبَةٌ قَالُوا إِنَّا لِلَّهِ وَإِنَّا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعُونَ * أُولَئِكَ عَلَيْهِمْ صَلَوَاتٌ مِنْ رَبِّهِمْ وَرَحْمَةٌ وَأُولَئِكَ هُمُ الْمُهْتَدُون*

And We will surely test you with something of fear and hunger and a loss of wealth and lives and fruits, but give good tidings to the patient*
Who, when disaster strikes them, say, “Indeed we belong to Allah , and indeed to Him we will return.”*
Those are the ones upon whom are blessings from their Lord and mercy. And it is those who are the [rightly] guided.

14/11/15

Leave a Reply

